Skip to Content Skip to Menu

Code Field - PHP code to display another field value for the same user

• jcrimmel
  • jcrimmel
1 year 11 months ago - 1 year 11 months ago #331282 by jcrimmel
Hello,

Looking for what is probably some pretty simple PHP help as I’m no expert at all.. FYI, I have CB Developer Package on J!4.2.3 and PHP 8.1.

Issue 1:
I have a Code Field that will be driven by PHP HTTPv2 code for an API call from another website. 

Code:
<?php $client = new http\Client; $request = new http\Client\Request; $request->setRequestUrl('https://HIDDENURL NAME.com/simple/price'); $request->setRequestMethod('GET'); $request->setQuery(new http\QueryString([   [b]  'ids' => 'Value of the user field ProjectName',[/b]     'vs_currencies' => 'usd' ])); $request->setHeaders([     'HIDDENINFO-Key' => 'HIDDENKEYINFO',     'HIDDENINFO-Host' => 'HIDDENINFO.com' ]); $client->enqueue($request)->send(); $response = $client->getResponse(); echo $response->getBody();

What I need to do is replace  'Value of the user field UserProjectName' with a field value found inside the user’s CB profile? I assume this should be pretty easy, but I am not great at writing PHP code.

Issue 2:
If given the option to use the PHP-based API call in the following formats, which is the better choice for the code field?
  • cURL
  • HTTPv1
  • HTTPv2
  • Unirest/Request 

Thanks so much
Last edit: 1 year 11 months ago by jcrimmel.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• krileon
  • krileon
1 year 11 months ago #331291 by krileon
You can use substitutions within your code field. So for example if you have a field called cb_projectname then you can substitute it into your code with [cb_projectname]. Please keep in mind substitutions should always be treated as strings. So if you set them to a variable be sure they're surrounded by quotes. See the below tutorial for further substitution usage information.