Skip to Content Skip to Menu

Need advice about a gallery

• joanie57
  • joanie57
17 years 3 months ago #39984 by joanie57
Need advice about a gallery was created by joanie57
Hello, all -

I'm very new to Joomla, CB, etc., but I'm learning quickly! I have just created 2 extended-family sites. Joomla is installed and works great. CB is installed, and works great. Fireboard took a little more work, but figured it out, as well. Everything seems to work correctly and plays well together.

I installed Zoom Gallery, because I thought it would fit my needs better than the others I have looked at. It's installed, and it works...sort of. I'm having a lot of little problems with it. Gallery descriptions don't display properly, "published" galleries mysteriously "unpublish" themselves, I can't figure out how to fill in the form correctly when uploading a new file, etc.

I'm thinking I made a mistake in choosing Zoom Gallery, because a) there is very little documentation for how to actually USE it once it's installed, and b) most of the questions on its website seem to go unanswered.
The user interface is so complex that I'm trying to write a tutorial for my users, to teach them how to create/edit galleries and upload/edit pictures. Many of my users are folks over age 75, and they will just not use a feature if they can't understand how to make it work.

I'm beginning to think I should just change to a different gallery. But I don't know which one. I would like to use something that can be integrated into Joomla/CB as easily as Zoom is. I'm not comfortable doing much coding - I can do the "replace THIS code with THIS OTHER code" thing, but that's about it. From what I could figure out, Coppermine and some of the others require extra steps to make it work with both Joomla and CB. I want a gallery where I can link to a "main page" with a list of all the galleries available, not just see a gallery from a user's profile (which I think is what CBgallery does).