Skip to Content Skip to Menu

restrict input to one or more values

• cbrace
  • cbrace
13 years 4 months ago #165210 by cbrace
restrict input to one or more values was created by cbrace
Hi all,

I am very new to CB and just getting up to speed with this powerful and somewhat daunting extensions, so your patience is appreciated.

I need to restrict input on a given text field to one or more of around a dozen values.

The ideal way to do that would be my means of a pop-up menu which one could check one or more values. I don't see that functionality in the base CB, so one option might be to use a combination of a regex and a tooltip.

Alternately, are there any CB plugins which might do this?

Thanks

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• cbrace
  • cbrace
13 years 4 months ago #165211 by cbrace
Replied by cbrace on topic background info
Following up my own message:

It might be useful if I try to explain what I am doing here; maybe others have ideas on how to best go about what I am trying to do.

I am the webmaster of a small professional organization (~ 400 members) of translators and editors.

I would like to set up the profile editor to enable individuals to enter their fields of expertise and restrict this to around a dozen top-level categories (Science, medicine, finance, business, etc). The purpose of this is to make it easier further down the road to set up a public userlist which would enable visitors to locate our members based on field of expertise.

Another approach to what I mentioned above would be simply making each of these fields of expertise a separate field and restricting input to Y or N. (radio buttons would be even better, but I don't seem that possibility here.

Any thoughts?

13 years 2 months ago #171636 by gschmalenberg
Replied by gschmalenberg on topic Re: background info
Did you find the answer to your questions? You can look at the registration on