Skip to Content Skip to Menu

CB 1.4 and Joomla 1.6 ACL

• sasvata
  • sasvata
13 years 4 months ago - 13 years 4 months ago #166638 by sasvata
CB 1.4 and Joomla 1.6 ACL was created by sasvata
Hi,

I am a CB newbie, so apologies in advance if I am doing things incorrectly. I did try to search the forum for answers, but so far did not find it.

Vesions I am using: CB-1.4, Joomla-1.6.3, PHP-5.3.5 (testing with XAMPP-win32-1.7.4-VC6).

Overall registration process, with CB/Joomla integrated, is working fine. I have setup the Joomla ACL with new groups, for example:

Public
|-Registered
|-AdminTeam
|-ContentManager
|-UserManager

The idea is that only Registered users that are members of the group UserManager should be able to manage the user DB, see users list, moderate/approve registrations, etc.

The first ACL-based thing I am trying to do is to allow the UserManager logged-on to the front-end to see the Users list. I have created a menu entry for Registered users to see Users List. In the CB Configuration->Moderation tab, I have set "Moderator Groups" to "UserManager", and "Allow Moderators to Edit User Profiles" to "CB Moderators and levels above". Under CB->List Management, I have a published list called "Members List", for which "User Group to allow access to:" is set to "UserManager".

When I access the menu logged in to front-end as an UserManager, then it says "There are no published user lists!". if I change the list's "User Group to allow access to:" to simply "Registered", then the list is shown. I know the obvious is to check if the logged-in user is really a member of UserManager, and not just Registered, and I have checked that over and over.

First question: What am I doing wrong for the front-end permissions to not work?

Second question: If I were to allowed access through back-end, how do I setup CB/Joomla such that only UserManager group is allowed to manage users?

Thanks,
Shash
Last edit: 13 years 4 months ago by sasvata.