Skip to Content Skip to Menu

Creation of nested groups

  • adop
  • adop
  • OFFLINE
  • Posts: 34
  • Thanks: 2
  • Karma: 0
12 years 11 months ago #191031 by adop
Replied by adop on topic Re: Creation of nested groups
When I click new group I am in a second level group with this url:

index.php?option=com_comprofiler&task=pluginclass&plugin=cbgroupjive&action=groups&func=show&cat=23&grp=171&Itemid=710&lang=it

The group creation form comes with this url:
index.php?option=com_comprofiler&task=pluginclass&plugin=cbgroupjive&action=groups&func=new&cat=23&grp=171&Itemid=716&lang=it

but in the breadcrumbs I read:
Home > Groups > My Group > My Group New Category > Category Overview > Create New Group.

From this it is clear that I am creating a top level group. However when I start the process I am in a lower level group.

adop

J2.5.3 CB 1.8.0 GJ 2.5.1 Kunena 1.7.2

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • krileon
  • krileon
  • ONLINE
  • Posts: 48681
  • Thanks: 8313
  • Karma: 1446
12 years 11 months ago #191033 by krileon
Replied by krileon on topic Re: Creation of nested groups
The only issue I could find was a bug with the Breadcrumb. Aside from that I've spent the last 2 hours going through the source and re-testing; creating nested groups appears to be working perfectly fine.


Kyle (Krileon)
Community Builder Team Member
Before posting on forums: Read FAQ thoroughly + Read our Documentation + Search the forums
CB links: Documentation - Localization - CB Quickstart - CB Paid Subscriptions - Add-Ons - Forge
--
If you are a Professional, Developer, or CB Paid Subscriptions subscriber and have a support issue please always post in your respective support forums for best results!
--
If I've missed your support post with a delay of 3 days or greater and are a Professional, Developer, or CBSubs subscriber please send me a private message with your thread and will reply when possible!
--
Please note I am available Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM CST to 4:00 PM CST. I am away on weekends (Saturday and Sunday) and if I've missed your post on or before a weekend after business hours please wait for the next following business day (Monday) and will get to your issue as soon as possible, thank you.
--
My role here is to provide guidance and assistance. I cannot provide custom code for each custom requirement. Please do not inquire me about custom development.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • adop
  • adop
  • OFFLINE
  • Posts: 34
  • Thanks: 2
  • Karma: 0
12 years 11 months ago #191096 by adop
Replied by adop on topic Re: Creation of nested groups
I have tried to create a new nested group not only through a Group Users but also as Mod, and Admin but the only case when I am successful is when I log in as Super Users.

Then I have tried to debug the code and this is what I gather:

a) I get a "No groups available msgs" because this line in component.cbgroupjive.php
Code:
$groups = cbgjData::listArray( cbgjData::getGroups( array( array( 'grp_nested_create' ), $user ), $where ) );
sets $group to null.

b) walking backworks, this depends on the query being run from this line in cbgroupjive.class.php:
Code:
$_CB_database->setQuery( $query );
The query is:
Code:
SELECT a.* FROM `#__groupjive_groups` AS a WHERE ( a.`user_id` = 139 ) AND ( a.`category` = '23' ) ORDER BY a.`ordering` ASC
and there is no sign of the group id being included in the WHERE clause.

So I don't see how the Create New Group form could get the parent group displayed as an option if it is neither queried nor taken from a var in memory.

I have also checked that the two files I mention above are the ones from rc2 dtsribution and they have been installed correctly.

J2.5.3 CB 1.8.0 GJ 2.5.1 Kunena 1.7.2

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • krileon
  • krileon
  • ONLINE
  • Posts: 48681
  • Thanks: 8313
  • Karma: 1446
12 years 11 months ago - 12 years 11 months ago #191111 by krileon
Replied by krileon on topic Re: Creation of nested groups
Was able to find a problem with the drop-down select showing when a parent is provided with the group object and will fix for next release, but it still functions fine.

This is how it should behave basically. A admin should always see the drop-down select to select whatever group they want for the parent. A regular user should see just the name of the parent like they do for Category and shouldn't be able to select a parent group from the drop-down select (this is currently bugged, they see the drop-down, but it's not a vulnerability because they only see groups they can add nested groups to).

How are you trying to create a new nested group? You should simple be doing Category > Group > New Group. Then don't touch the parent drop-down select (unless you want to change it) as it's already pre-selected for the group you were viewing.


Kyle (Krileon)
Community Builder Team Member
Before posting on forums: Read FAQ thoroughly + Read our Documentation + Search the forums
CB links: Documentation - Localization - CB Quickstart - CB Paid Subscriptions - Add-Ons - Forge
--
If you are a Professional, Developer, or CB Paid Subscriptions subscriber and have a support issue please always post in your respective support forums for best results!
--
If I've missed your support post with a delay of 3 days or greater and are a Professional, Developer, or CBSubs subscriber please send me a private message with your thread and will reply when possible!
--
Please note I am available Monday - Friday from 8:00 AM CST to 4:00 PM CST. I am away on weekends (Saturday and Sunday) and if I've missed your post on or before a weekend after business hours please wait for the next following business day (Monday) and will get to your issue as soon as possible, thank you.
--
My role here is to provide guidance and assistance. I cannot provide custom code for each custom requirement. Please do not inquire me about custom development.
Last edit: 12 years 11 months ago by krileon.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • adop
  • adop
  • OFFLINE
  • Posts: 34
  • Thanks: 2
  • Karma: 0
12 years 11 months ago #191124 by adop
Replied by adop on topic Re: Creation of nested groups
I am creating it from this group page here:


and this takes to this form where the group is not present:


At this stage I will put it aside and wait for the next release.

BTW when is it planned for?

thanks.

adop

J2.5.3 CB 1.8.0 GJ 2.5.1 Kunena 1.7.2
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • adop
  • adop
  • OFFLINE
  • Posts: 34
  • Thanks: 2
  • Karma: 0
12 years 11 months ago #191141 by adop
Replied by adop on topic Re: Creation of nested groups
I have also noticed that this code in component.cbgoupjive.php:
Code:
$list_access = array_merge( $list_access, $_CB_framework->acl->get_groups_below_me() );
merges array $list_access having strings in local language and an array coming from function get_groups_below_me() which is in the default language.

So the result is 2 strings in Italian, in my case, and 2 in English in the same select.

J2.5.3 CB 1.8.0 GJ 2.5.1 Kunena 1.7.2

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Moderators: beatnantkrileon
Powered by Kunena Forum