Skip to Content Skip to Menu

URGENT: Database Data Type Changed Without Warning

• GoremanX
  • GoremanX
12 years 3 months ago - 12 years 3 months ago #205398 by GoremanX
I have a Editor Textarea (editorta) field called "cb_aboutme" where users can type a short biography. This field had a character limit of 1500. I've been using this field for over 2 years now, without problems.

In the last 2 weeks, this database field has changed from data type mediumtext to varchar(255) for no obvious reason. I've made no manual database changes whatsoever in these last 2 weeks, and I've made absolutely no changes to this field in the backend in 2 years. ALL instances of this field throughout the ENTIRE database have had this change, so ALL my users' "about me" text has been truncated to 256 characters.

The only changes I've made in recent weeks is installing updated versions of official CB plugins, many of them. But why should those be breaking existing fields which have remained untouched for over 2 years?!?
Last edit: 12 years 3 months ago by GoremanX.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• krileon
  • krileon
12 years 3 months ago #205405 by krileon
No idea, the cb.core.xml file determines its type and it's showing mediumtext. All my textarea and textarea editor fields are showing mediumtext in database as well. I think there was a bug in an older CB Core Fields ajax that overrode the types, but that's long sense been fixed with latest. Aside from that something else may have overwrote the field XML or changed it directly in database.

Maybe be more specific as to exactly what you installed and can review their sources.

Kyle (Krileon)
Community Builder Team Member
Before posting on forums: Read FAQ thoroughly + Read our Documentation + Search the forums
CB links: Documentation - Localization - CB Quickstart - CB Paid Subscriptions - Add-Ons - Forge
--