Skip to Content Skip to Menu

[SOLVED] Entire site "blank" when editing language file

• rolf3dea
  • rolf3dea
12 years 2 months ago - 12 years 2 months ago #207733 by rolf3dea
Hi everyone,

I am new to CB but needed it for a specific website. This website is in Dutch. I know there are a lot of topics about "changing the registration text -> Registration Complete!" to another language but this is a tad different and I can't find the answer anywhere. I have downloaded a Dutch plugin for CB (newest version on Joomla 2.5).. it works perfectly, but the guy forgot to translate the text that I mentioned. So.. I open Dutch.php and all that I change is that little sentence. When I overwrite the original using FTP, nothing works anymore, not even the home page?! Does anyone know how to solve this problem?

Thanks very much in Advance,

Rolf
Last edit: 12 years 2 months ago by krileon.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• jojo12
  • jojo12
12 years 2 months ago #207741 by jojo12
Hi [I am only a user in german, using see footnote]
which joomla version, which cb version, etc.

first of all it seems for me strange, that you have a dutch.php and not in nl-nl a language.php.

when I had this problem you mention, I forgot for example a comma at the end.

Please study at first the exact rules of the language file. At the end is also something special.

When there's all correct, there shouldn't be a blank page!

• rolf3dea
  • rolf3dea
12 years 2 months ago - 12 years 2 months ago #207744 by rolf3dea
Hi thanks for the reply.

It's Joomla 2.5.6 with CB 1.8.1 (just downloaded) And Groupjive 2.5.3 RC1.

The file is located here:

/public_html/components/com_comprofiler/plugin/language/dutch/dutch.php

The part of the text that I edit is:

//Registration form
DEFINE('_UE_REG_COMPLETE_NOPASS','<div class="componentheading">Registration Complete</div>'
.'<p>Your password has been sent to the e-mail address you entered.</p>'