Skip to Content Skip to Menu

[SOLVED] Hyperlink to profile using query select.

6 years 2 weeks ago - 5 years 11 months ago #307827 by RebeccaWool
Hello,

I am very new to query select and this question maybe very basic but, I have spent a day searching for answers and am now stuck.

Using CB query field, I want to show a user's name and have it link to their profile page.

So far I have:
Code:
SELECT CONCAT_WS(" ", firstname, lastname) AS whole_name FROM traincomprofiler where cb_role = "team_leader_adult"

Now, how do I make that a hyperlink to the resulting user's profile please?
Also, if there are more than one user's to be listed, how to make each name on a new line?

Please note: I am blind, no useful sight and rely totally on Voiceover (screen reader) to access my computer. This makes it really difficult to understand some coding text and images such as screen shots don't convey any information. So if I ask you to clarify something, it is not because I'm being a pain, it's because my computer hasn't made it clear! Thanks for your understanding.

Life is a constant learning curve and I've just started out!
Last edit: 5 years 11 months ago by krileon. Reason: Added [SOLVED] tag to subject

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• krileon
  • krileon
6 years 2 weeks ago #307838 by krileon
Replied by krileon on topic Hyperlink to profile using query select.
Should be doable as long as you also grab their user id in your query. The following should work for your required SQL and the display code.

Query:
Code:
SELECT `id`, CONCAT_WS( " ", `firstname`, `lastname` ) AS whole_name FROM `#__comprofiler` WHERE `cb_role` = "team_leader_adult"
Output: Multiple Rows
Row:
Code:
<div><a href="index.php?option=com_comprofiler&view=userprofile&user=[column_id]">[whole_name]</a></div>

Kyle (Krileon)
Community Builder Team Member
Before posting on forums: Read FAQ thoroughly + Read our Documentation + Search the forums