Skip to Content Skip to Menu

installed uddeIM1.5, chinese not probably display

15 years 9 months ago #83556 by crassus168
Hello everyone,
I'm a newbie here, i got a question about chinese character display.
my joomla is 1.5.8
php 5.2.8
apache 2.210
mysql 5.067

i have other component working with chinese without problem, just this one uddeIM 1.5, after i installed it, i can set the uddeim layout to chinese character, however, when i try to send message, the chinese character in the content and subject changed to question mark, i have already set the charact set to UTF-8 in the udde config. and in the config/about page, i saw the i'm still using the language.utf-8/english.php, is it correct? anyway, i tried to send message in chinese in this CB site, it seems no problem for it. what things i need to make sure for it?

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

• slabbi
  • slabbi
15 years 9 months ago #83557 by slabbi
Maybe your DB does not accept UTF-8 characters. Please try following: In the settings there is a switch to enable message obfuscating. Set this switch to "base64" or "obfuscate".

uddeIM & uddePF Development
CB Language Workgroup
CB 3rd Party Developer

15 years 9 months ago #83558 by crassus168
thanks! slabbi,
thanks for your fast reply,
by the way, my db should be no problem to support UTF-8, as other components can support it without problems, i checked the db collabration, i saw that the uddeim database is installed with charact set latin1 and collation latin1_swedish_ci by default, for other components work with chinese, the db is utf8-general-ci
anyway, for your suggestion, where can i find the settings to enable message obfuscating?

as i guess, is it related to the installation? how do the udde installation to detect my database default charset and language settings?
Post edited by: crassus168, at: 2008/12/28 13:23

Post edited by: crassus168, at: 2008/12/28 13:26

15 years 9 months ago #83734 by crassus168