Skip to Content Skip to Menu

Purchasing if I can achieve connect button on user list

  • anijack
  • anijack
  • OFFLINE
  • Posts: 7
  • Thanks: 0
  • Karma: 0
11 years 9 months ago - 11 years 9 months ago #219557 by anijack
Hi,

I am thinking about buying the Pro verison of Community Builder but before I do, I would like to know if something is possible.

Currently to my understanding the only place the connect button can appear is in under the connect tab on individual profiles. Instead I would like to have a connect button on the user list and in a more obvious position on the profile.

Using the free version I found that I can create a Delimiter field and use this link <a href="index.php?option=com_comprofiler&act=connections&task=addConnection&connectionid={fld id}">Add Connection</a>. This works fine but I would like the link to dissappear next to the users that the person has already connected with.

So my question is. Is this something that can be achieved in the Pro version or if it currently isn't would support be given to achieve this feature under the Pro subscription?
Last edit: 11 years 9 months ago by anijack.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • nant
  • nant
  • ONLINE
  • Posts: 12339
  • Thanks: 1467
  • Karma: 877
11 years 9 months ago #219564 by nant

anijack wrote: Hi,

I am thinking about buying the Pro verison of Community Builder but before I do, I would like to know if something is possible.

Currently to my understanding the only place the connect button can appear is in under the connect tab on individual profiles. Instead I would like to have a connect button on the user list and in a more obvious position on the profile.

Using the free version I found that I can create a Delimiter field and use this link <a href="index.php?option=com_comprofiler&act=connections&task=addConnection&connectionid={fld id}">Add Connection</a>. This works fine but I would like the link to dissappear next to the users that the person has already connected with.

So my question is. Is this something that can be achieved in the Pro version or if it currently isn't would support be given to achieve this feature under the Pro subscription?


I believe you can filter your delimiter field to only show the link in the cases you want.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • anijack
  • anijack
  • OFFLINE
  • Posts: 7
  • Thanks: 0
  • Karma: 0
11 years 9 months ago - 11 years 9 months ago #219566 by anijack
Is this feature only available in the pro version? Or would you provide me with the custom code to achieve this?
Last edit: 11 years 9 months ago by anijack.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • anijack
  • anijack
  • OFFLINE
  • Posts: 7
  • Thanks: 0
  • Karma: 0
11 years 9 months ago - 11 years 8 months ago #219666 by anijack
Would it be possible to clarify whether this is definately possible rather than whether you believe this is possible because we would really like to purchase this product. But if the feature described in my first post is not achievable we will have to go else where.
Last edit: 11 years 8 months ago by anijack.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • anijack
  • anijack
  • OFFLINE
  • Posts: 7
  • Thanks: 0
  • Karma: 0
11 years 8 months ago - 11 years 8 months ago #219842 by anijack
I have managed to include a more obvious connections button in the profiles using this code:

<?php global $_CB_framework;
$cbUser = CBuser::getInstance( $_CB_framework->displayedUser() );
$loadtab = $cbUser->getTab('18');
if (preg_match('/There is no established connection between you and/', $loadtab) ) {
?>
<a href="javascript:void(0)" onclick="return overlib('Personalize your invitation to connect by adding a message that will be included with your connection.<br /><form action=&quot;index.php?option=com_comprofiler&amp; Itemid=2&amp; act=connections&amp;task=addConnection&amp;connectionid=<?php echo $_CB_framework->displayedUser(); ?>&quot; method=&quot;post&quot; id=&quot;connOverForm&quot; name=&quot;connOverForm&quot;>Message:<br /><textarea cols=&quot;40&quot; rows=&quot; 8&quot; name=&quot;message&quot;></textarea><br /><input type=&quot;button&quot; class=&quot;inputbox&quot; onclick=&quot;cbConnSubmReq();&quot; value=&quot;Submit&quot; /> <input type=&quot;button&quot; class=&quot;inputbox&quot; onclick=&quot; cClick();&quot; value=&quot;Cancel&quot; /></form>', STICKY, CAPTION,'Connect to user', CENTER,CLOSECLICK,CLOSETEXT,'CLOSE',WIDTH,350, ANCHOR,'cbAddConn',CENTERPOPUP,'LR','UR'); " name="cbAddConn" title="Request a Connection to that user">Request Connection</a>
<?php
}
?>

However this does not function properly when inserted into the community list. I have read that this is due to the fact that the community list does not contain the necessary javascrict required for this script to work.

I am very eager to buy this module but I need a guarantee that you will be able to show me how to achieve this functionality.
Last edit: 11 years 8 months ago by anijack.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

  • nant
  • nant
  • ONLINE
  • Posts: 12339
  • Thanks: 1467
  • Karma: 877
11 years 8 months ago #219852 by nant

anijack wrote: Would it be possible to clarify whether this is definately possible rather than whether you believe this is possible because we would really like to purchase this product. But if the feature described in my first post is not achievable we will have to go else where.


Sorry for the delay. Busy answering paid support users.

Answer is yes, you should be able to do this with free version.

Search forums for delimiter field examples and substitutions.
Kyle (krileon) also has some substitution tutorials on his allmysocials.com site you can study.

When you become a paid member (since you mentioned your intention a number of times), you will be able to post on the Advanced or Professional support forums (depending on level you become) and CB team specialists will help you configure this.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Moderators: beatnantkrileon
Powered by Kunena Forum